Saw Palmetto
20 mg
Serenoa repens berry extract
What studies used
320-960 mg a day for 72 weeks
Even full and triple doses did no better than placebo for urinary symptoms. (Andriole et al., 2013)
USA Authorized Horsewood Retailer2 capsules a day · 60 per bottle
60-day money-back guaranteeFree U.S. shipping on the 6-bottle pack

Written by the Horsewood Daily editorial team
Last updated · Who reviewed this page · How we write and review
Horsewood lists seven ingredients in each 2-capsule serving, 118 mg in total.
Saw palmetto, wild yam, sarsaparilla, nettle leaf and boron chelate are 20 mg each. Tongkat ali is 10 mg of a 100:1 extract and horny goat weed is 8 mg of a 10:1 extract.
See the full label on the supplement facts page.
Horsewood has seven active ingredients, and the label prints every amount. One serving is 2 capsules and holds 118 mg in total.
Five lines sit at 20 mg each, tongkat ali adds 10 mg and horny goat weed adds 8 mg. Tap a card to see what the research used.
20 mg
Serenoa repens berry extract
What studies used
320-960 mg a day for 72 weeks
Even full and triple doses did no better than placebo for urinary symptoms. (Andriole et al., 2013)
20 mg
Dioscorea villosa root extract
What studies used
No established dose
The body does not turn wild yam into DHEA or testosterone. (MSKCC, 2022)
20 mg
Smilax ornata root extract
What studies used
Not enough science to set a dose
No good human studies; it does not turn into steroids. (RxList, n.d.)
20 mg
Urtica dioica leaf extract
What studies used
Root extract, 429 mg a day, in prostate trials
The label uses leaf, not the root studied for the prostate. (NIDDK LiverTox, 2023)
20 mg
Boron amino acid chelate (elemental boron not stated)
What studies used
10 mg elemental boron a day, 1 week, 8 men
The label gives the chelate weight; elemental boron is not stated. (Naghii et al., 2011)
10 mg
Eurycoma longifolia, 100:1 extract (label: equal to about 1,000 mg dry powder)
What studies used
100-600 mg a day of extract
10 mg of extract is 10 to 60 times less than the studied extracts. (Leisegang et al., 2022)
8 mg
Epimedium sagittatum, 10:1 extract (label: equal to about 80 mg dry powder)
What studies used
No clinical basis for a dose
Commercial products run 250-500 mg; icariin content is not stated here. (Drugs.com, 2026)
Gelatin, microcrystalline cellulose and magnesium stearate fill out the capsule. The Horsewood supplement facts page shows the full panel.
Horsewood has seven. The bottle label lists seven active lines, and the label is the record that counts.
The confusion comes from the seller. Its ingredient graphic and its product pack show six and skip sarsaparilla.

| Ingredient | Plant part or form | Per 2 capsules | Label note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saw palmetto | Berry extract | 20 mg | Serenoa repens |
| Wild yam | Root extract | 20 mg | Dioscorea villosa |
| Sarsaparilla | Root extract | 20 mg | Smilax ornata; missing from the seller graphic |
| Nettle | Leaf extract | 20 mg | Urtica dioica leaf, not root |
| Boron | Amino acid chelate | 20 mg | Compound weight; elemental boron not stated |
| Tongkat ali | 100:1 extract | 10 mg | Label: equal to about 1,000 mg dry powder |
| Horny goat weed | 10:1 extract | 8 mg | Label: equal to about 80 mg dry powder |
It gives you 10 mg of concentrated root extract. The label adds that this equals about 1,000 mg of dry tongkat ali powder, but that figure is a ratio conversion, not the capsule content.
A 100:1 ratio means about 100 parts of dried root made 1 part of extract. What it is standardized to is not stated.
Trials used much more extract: 100 to 600 mg a day in a pooled review (Leisegang et al., 2022), and 100 or 200 mg a day for 12 weeks in older men (Chinnappan et al., 2021).
Horsewood holds 8 mg of a 10:1 horny goat weed extract per serving. The label says that equals about 80 mg of dry herb.
No clinical study sets a dose for this herb. Products sold in stores usually hold 250 to 500 mg, standardized to a compound called icariin (Drugs.com, 2026). The Horsewood label does not state any icariin content.
Sexual-function claims have not been proven in rigorous trials (NIDDK LiverTox, 2022). Case reports describe a fast heart rhythm, mostly in older people with heart disease.
Saw palmetto is a classic prostate herb, and it is the first line on the label at 20 mg of berry extract.
The usual dose is 320 mg, so 20 mg is one sixteenth of that. In the CAMUS trial, men took 320 to 960 mg a day for 72 weeks, and PSA did not move more than with placebo (Andriole et al., 2013).
A Cochrane review of 27 trials found little or no relief of urinary symptoms (Franco et al., 2023). No source we checked shows it raises testosterone or libido.
These four lines add 80 mg to each Horsewood serving, 20 mg apiece. Each turns up in men's formulas, but the human evidence is thin.
The label uses leaf. Prostate trials used root, for example 429 mg a day for 52 weeks (NIDDK LiverTox, 2023). Results were mixed.
Wild yam does not turn into DHEA in the body (RxList, n.d.). In older adults, three weeks of it left DHEA-S unchanged (Araghiniknam et al., 1996).
There is not enough evidence to rate it for any use. The idea that it becomes a steroid in the body is false (RxList, n.d.).
That is the weight of the whole compound, so elemental boron is lower and not stated. Adults should stay under 20 mg of elemental boron a day (NIH ODS, 2022). One study gave 8 men 10 mg for a week (Naghii et al., 2011).
Our article on saw palmetto, nettle and wild yam goes deeper into each study.
Every Horsewood amount sits well below the doses human studies used. The meter shows each one against the research range.
Tongkat ali is the clearest case: 10 mg against 100 to 600 mg of extract, or 10 to 60 times less.
Compare extract to extract: 10 mg against 100-600 mg. The 1,000 mg figure on the label is a ratio conversion. Sources: (Leisegang et al., 2022) (Chinnappan et al., 2021)
20 mg is one sixteenth of the usual 320 mg dose, and even full doses did not beat placebo for urinary symptoms. Sources: (Andriole et al., 2013) (Franco et al., 2023)
The label uses nettle leaf; prostate studies used the root, at about 15 to 30 times this amount. Sources: (NIDDK LiverTox, 2023)
The 20 mg is the chelate compound, so the elemental boron is lower and not stated. The adult upper limit is 20 mg of elemental boron. Sources: (Naghii et al., 2011) (NIH ODS, 2022)
No clinical dose exists. 8 mg sits far below what is commonly sold. Sources: (Drugs.com, 2026) (NIDDK LiverTox, 2022)
Horsewood amount dose range used in human studies (log scale)
Yes, the seven actives are six plant extracts and one mineral chelate. Roots, a berry and leaves make up most of the 118 mg.
The capsule itself is gelatin, which comes from animals. That means Horsewood is not vegetarian, even though one seller badge says so.

Questions people type into Google and Bing, answered from the label and the sources on this page.
Saw palmetto, wild yam, sarsaparilla, nettle leaf and boron chelate at 20 mg each, plus tongkat ali at 10 mg and horny goat weed at 8 mg, per 2 capsules.
Seven, for 118 mg per serving. The seller's graphic shows six because it leaves out sarsaparilla.
Yes, 10 mg of a 100:1 extract per serving. The label's 1,000 mg figure is a ratio conversion, not the capsule content.
Yes, 8 mg of a 10:1 Epimedium sagittatum extract per serving. The label does not say how much icariin it holds.
It is a traditional prostate herb. Research has not shown it raises testosterone or libido, and trials found little or no benefit for urinary symptoms (Franco et al., 2023).
Yes, 20 mg of Smilax ornata root extract. The seller's graphic leaves it out, so some pages say six ingredients.
No. They are different parts of the same plant. Horsewood uses leaf extract, while the prostate studies used root extract (NIDDK LiverTox, 2023).
No. The body cannot turn wild yam into DHEA or other hormones (MSKCC, 2022).
One study of 8 men saw free testosterone rise on 10 mg of elemental boron a day for a week (Naghii et al., 2011). That is too small to prove much.